LeNoir Forge Museum
Region: Fleur-De-Lis, Marconi Trail, Metro CB
Visit one of the oldest stone buildings on Cape Breton Island. “The Forge” built in 1793 by Thomas LeNoir and his brother Simon was an important enterprise on Isle Madame. Step back to a time when shipbuilding flourished and local Captains sailed all over the globe. Experience a working forge, and a collection of tools and artifacts that tell some of the stories of Isle Madame.
The LeNoir Forge Museum is part of the LeNoir Landing site which also houses a genealogy centre, community archives, a boat barn containing displays and information on our seafaring past, a gift shop and other shanties used for exhibits. Chat with our bilingual interpreters and take part in on site programs and activities.